Jazz Evensong: Laura Crema

Date/Time
Date(s) - October 5, 2016
8:00 pm - 9:30 pm

Location
Brentwood Presbyterian Church

Categories No Categories


Many in the congregation share a love of jazz, especially our minister and our director of music. Vancouver is blessed with a rich pool of amazing talent in its jazz musicians, complemented by musicians on tour coming through town. Churches are looking to offer an alternative time and form of worship in which people can be nourished by the grace of Jesus Christ to flourish. And Brentwood has a warm ambiance and amazing acoustics for this kind of music. So, we started to do Jazz Evensongs on Wednesday evenings at 8:00PM in 2013.

The evening is mostly music – 7 pieces in all. There are prayers inspired by the Iona Community tradition of Trinitarian thinking about the blessings of God that flow to us moment by moment in the most ordinary of things.

We invite you to put some money into the ‘Thanks Bucket’ (it’s a tradition we borrowed from New Orleans street bands and jazz clubs) that is passed around during the service. All the money goes to the musicians that evening.

Below is a list of the artists coming in the next few months, along with links to their websites to find out more about their music and performances.

Jazz Evensong Roster for 2016  | Download Full Schedule

Jan 13 | The Daniel Reynolds Trio
Jan 20 | Colleen Savage | www.colleensavage.com
Jan 27 | Glenn Chatten | www.glennchatten.com
Feb 3 | The Rossi Gang | www.facebook.com/RossiGang
Feb 10 | Leora Cashe | www.leoracashe.com
Feb 17 | Eli Bennett | www.elibennett.com
Feb 24 | Bill Weeds
Mar 2 | Eli Davidovici | www.facebook.com/eli.davidovici
Mar 9 | Steve Kaldestad | www.stevekaldestad.com
Mar 16 | Allison Au | www.allisonau.com
Mar 23 | Daniel Reynolds – Prodigal Son Suite
Mar 30 | Adele Wilding | www.adelemwilding.com
Apr 6 | Wanda Nowicki | www.wandanowicki.com
Apr 13 | Doe Bender | www.gigmasters.com/jazz/doe-bender
Apr 20 | Quintessential Jazz | www.quintessentialjazz.com
Apr 27 | Sharon Minemoto | www.sharonminemoto.com
May 4 | Ben Henriques | www.benhenriques.ca
May 11 | Cory Weeds | www.coryweeds.com
May 18 | Linda Szentes and Jazzlinks | https://www.facebook.com/linda.szentes
May 25 | Jennifer Scott | www.jenniferscott.ca
June 1 | Christie Grace | www.christiegracemusic.com
June 8 | Triology | www.triologymusic.com
June 15 | Miles Wong | www.facebook.com/miles.wong
June 22 | Kelita Haverland | www.kelita.com
June 29 | Original Blend
July 6 | Deanna Knight and the Hot Club of Mars | www.deannaknight.ca
July 13 | Maya Rae | mayaraemusic.com
July 20 | Laura Crema | www.lauracrema.com
July 27 | The Rossi Gang | www.facebook.com/RossiGang
Aug 3 | Jaclyn Guillou | www.jaclynguillou.com
Aug 10 | Gabriel Hasselbach | www.gabrieljazz.com
Aug 17 | Armi Grano | www.armigrano.com
Aug 24 | Quintessential Jazz | www.quintessentialjazz.com
Aug 31 | Simon Millerd & Friends | www.facebook.com/simonmillerd
Sept 7 | Daniel Reynolds & Friends
Sept 14 | Karen Graves & Miles Black | www.facebook.com/karen.graves.3726www.milesblack.com
Sept 21 | Maria Ho | www.facebook.com/mariahomusic
Sept 28 | Holly Burke & The Naturals | www.hollyburke.com
Oct 5 | Laura Crema | www.lauracrema.com
Oct 12 | Andrea Menard | www.andreamenard.com
Oct 19 | Nancy Newman | www.nancymusic.com
Oct 26 | Hip Pocket Trio | www.reverbnation.com/hippocketjazz
Nov 2 | Dawn Aitken – facebook.com/Dawn-aitken-202384413174685
Nov 9 | Lorraine Foster (sings Vera Lynn) | www.lorrainefoster.com
Nov 16 | Bill Sample | www.billsamplemusic.com
Nov 23 | LJ Monteney | ljmounteney.com
Nov 30 | Sandra-Mae | www.sandra-mae.com
Dec7 | Darlene Ketchum and Bill Sample | www.darleneketchum.com & billsamplemusic.com
Dec 14 | The Vancouver Saxophone Jazztet
Dec 21 | We Three Queens | karinplato.com & katehv.com & jenniferscott.ca

http://brentwoodpc.ca/jazz-evensong

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.